JUST IN: Tinubu appoints new CBN gov, names 4 deputy govs

Olayemi Cardoso has been nominated by President Bola Tinubu to lead the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), initially for a term of five (5) years, pending approval by the Nigerian Senate.

This was stated in a statement released on Friday by Ajuri Ngelale, Special Adviser to the President for Media & Publicity.

‘’This directive is in conformity with Section 8 (1) of the Central Bank of Nigeria Act, 2007, which vests in the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the authority to appoint the Governor and Four (4) Deputy Governors for the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), subject to confirmation by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,’’ the statement said.

READ ALSO: BREAKING: Tinubu bows to pressure replaces Ondo, C’River nominations to NDDC Board

‘’Furthermore, President Bola Tinubu has approved the nomination of four new Deputy Governors of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), for a term of five (5) years at the first instance, pending their confirmation by the Nigerian Senate, as listed below:

(1) Mrs. Emem Nnana Usoro

(2) Mr. Muhammad Sani Abdullahi Dattijo

(3) Mr. Philip Ikeazor

(4) Dr. Bala M. Bello

In line with President Bola Tinubu’s Renewed Hope agenda, the President expects the above-listed nominees to successfully implement critical reforms at the Central Bank of Nigeria, which will enhance the confidence of Nigerians and international partners in the restructuring of the Nigerian economy toward sustainable growth and prosperity for all.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.