Gov Fubara swears in 9 resigned Rivers commissioners amid crisis

On Friday, Rivers State Governor Siminalayi Fubara swore in nine commissioners who had been renominated.

The re-nominated nine commissioners, eight of whom were members of the previous government led by Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike, resigned over the state’s political crisis, which began in 2023.

According to Channels TV, the swearing-in ceremony was held at the State Executive Council Chambers of the Government House in Port Harcourt, the state capital.

The oaths of office were taken concurrently by all nine commissioners, beginning with the pledge of allegiance and advancing to the oath of office.

According to reports, one of the commissioners, Gift Worlu, who was not part of the Wike administration, is from Obio/Akpor, the same local government zone as the FCT Minister.

Governor Fubara congratulated the re-sworn commissioners and encouraged them to do what was best for the state.

The governor was quoted as saying.

“I don’t think I have any charge for you. You have already read your charge to uphold the Constitution of the fed republic of Nigeria. I urge you to do the right thing.

“I can see how heavy your hearts are. I don’t blame you. You were caught between the crossfire.”


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.