BREAKING: Niger, Mali, 1 other West African country pull out of ECOWAS

The military governments of Niger Republic, Mali, and Burkina Faso have declared their immediate withdrawal from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

On Sunday, the countries’ military administrations announced their resignation from the regional union in a unified statement broadcast on Niger national television.

According to Wion News, the leaders of the three Sahel nations issued a statement saying it was a “sovereign decision” to leave the Economic Community of West African States “without delay”.

“After 49 years, the valiant peoples of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger regretfully and with great disappointment observe that the (ECOWAS) organization has drifted from the ideals of its founding fathers and the spirit of Pan-Africanism,” Colonel Amadou Abdramane, Niger junta spokesman, said in the statement.

“The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fight against terrorism and insecurity,” Abdramane added.

READ ALSO : Suspended Adamawa REC escapes to Niger Republic with wife, Lawyer tells court

In September 2023, the three countries signed a mutual defence pact to assist one another against armed rebellion or external aggression.

The charter – Alliance of Sahel States – binds the countries to assist one another – including militarily should there be an attack against one of them.

Mali’s military leader Assimi Goita said on his X social media account, “I have today signed with the Heads of State of Burkina Faso and Niger the Liptako-Gourma charter establishing the Alliance of Sahel States, with the aim of establishing a collective defence and mutual assistance framework.”

Following a military coup in Niger last July, ECOWAS imposed sanctions on the country and threatened military action.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.