Edo poll: APC clears 12 aspirants for governorship primary

Ahead of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election in Edo State on February 17, the party’s National Gubernatorial Aspirants Screening Committee has certified 12 governorship candidates for the September gubernatorial election.

Following a two-day screening session, the seven-man committee led by Prof. Taoheed Abdul Adedoja handed all aspirants a clear bill of health to fight the party’s primary next Saturday.

The APC National Organising Secretary, Alhaji Sulaiman Muhammadu Arugungu, issued a statement to this effect in Abuja early Saturday.

According to Arugungu, all approved aspirants will receive a Certificate of Screening clearance on Saturday at noon from the party Secretariat.

Former Minister of State, National Economic Planning, Prince Clem Agba; Senator Monday Okpebholo, who represents Edo Central; former Deputy Governor, Hon. Lucky Imasuen; member representing Etsako Federal Constituency, Hon. Anamero Sunday Dekeri; and former APC governorship candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu and Engr. Gideon Ikhine, have all been cleared.

Others cleared include Col. David Imuse, the immediate past Edo APC chairman; Major. General Charles Airhiavbere (Rtd), former Executive Director, Finance and Administration of the Niget Delta Development Commission (NDDC); former Governor Oserheimen Osunbor; Dr. Blessing Agbohmere, former Zonal Organising Secretary (South-South); Hon. Dennis Idahosa, member representing Ovia South/West-Ovia North/East Federal Constituency; and Dr. Ernest Afolabi Umakhihe

The statement reads: “The Edo State Gubernatorial Aspirants Screening Committee has screened and cleared all 12 aspirants who physically presented themselves to be screened by the party’s screening committee.

“All the 12 aspirants who purchased the Expression of Interest Fotms and Nomination Forms were screened by the screening committee over two days between Thursday 8th February 2024 and Friday 9th February 2024.

“The Certificate of Screening will be presented to all the 12 Gubernatorial aspirants at the party’s Secretariat by the National Organising tomorrow Saturday 10th February 2024.”


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.