APC: Dennis Idahosa emerges winner of Edo governorship primary election

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has confirmed the winner of Edo State’s governorship primary election held on Saturday.

The party announced that Dennis Idahosa, a serving member of the House of Representatives, won the hotly contested race.

Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo State, who chairs the Edo State Gubernatorial Primary Election Committee, proclaimed Idahosa the APC flagbearer on Saturday in Benin City after the party’s primary election.

According to him, Idahosa garnered more than 40,000 votes to defeat other candidates and would now fly the party’s banner in the September 2024 governorship election.

READ ALSO: Edo poll: Idahosa set to pick APC governorship ticket as another aspirant steps down

News24 Nigeria reports that Idahosa, who is said to be the anointed candidate of Senator Adams Oshiomhole, hails from the same Edo South senatorial district with Governor Godwin Obaseki, who will bow out of office on 12 November, 2024 after two terms of eight years.

Some political analyst had predicted that the APC would give the governorship ticket to Edo Central Senatorial District which has not governed the state since the return to democracy in 1999 aside the less than two years stint of Professor Osehreinmen Osunbor, which was invalidated by the court.

More details to follow…

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.