Edo poll: PDP announces winner of governorship primary election

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has confirmed the winner of Edo State’s gubernatorial primary election held Thursday.

Dauda Lawal, Zamfara’s governor and returning officer, pronounced Asue Ighodalo the winner of the election.

Lawal stated that Ighodalo received 577 votes to defeat other candidates in the race.

Earlier, the deputy governor of Edo, Philip Shaibu, won the parallel governorship primary organized by another wing of the party.

News24 Nigeria reports that Ighodalo, a renowned Lagos-based businessman, has been receiving massive support from incumbent governor, Godwin Obaseki, who has been pushing for power shift to Edo Central Senatorial District.

Ighodalo hails from Edo Central while Philip Shaibu, who is also laying claim to the PDP governorship ticket is from Edo North.

More details to follow…

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.