BREAKING: Okpebholo wins Edo APC guber primary election

Monday Okpebholo, Senator representing Edo Central in the National Assembly, was declared the winner of a new All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election held in Edo State on Thursday.

Okpebholo overcame his primary opponent, Dennis Idahosa.

Bassey Otu, the Cross River Governor and Chairman of the Edo APC shadow poll, made the announcement after compiling the results from the 18 local government areas.

The collation and declaration were held at Lushville Hotel & Suites, Gapiona Avenue, Government Reservation Area (GRA) in Benin.

Okpebholo polled 12,433 votes to defeat  Idahosa, who scored 6,541 votes.

News24 Nigeria reports that former Governor of the State, Senator Adams Oshiomhole, had publicly declared support for Dennis Idahosa, before the primary poll.

While the 43-year-old Idahosa – a member of the House of Representatives hails from Edo South senatorial district, Okpebholo is from Edo Central that is yet to produce a duly elected governor for the Heartbeat state since the return to democracy in 1999.

Recall that the 2007 election of Professor Osehreinmen Osunbor, who is from the same Esan- speaking Edo Central zone, was nullified by court less than two years after he was sworn in as governor.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.