Edo poll: Ganduje presents Certificate of Return to Okpebholo amid Idahosa’s protest

The All Progressives Congress (APC) National chairman, Abdullahi Ganduje, has delivered a Certificate of Return to Monday Okpebholo, the winner of Edo State’s governorship primary poll.

Abdullahi Ganduje, National Chairman of the APC, gave the certificate to Okpebholo at the party’s National Secretariat in Abuja on Saturday.

Ganduje, who was joined by other members of the party’s National Working Committee, stated that the party is almost assured to win the Edo governorship race on September 21 based on Okpebholo’s attributes.

He emphasized the necessity for other candidates to collaborate with Okpebholo to achieve the party’s win in the state.

He stated that direct primaries were held in 192 wards in the state with records and video evidence, and Okpebholo was proclaimed the winner since he received the most votes.

“The full cooperation, harmony and unity of all aspirants and members of our party is all we need now to win Edo in the coming election now that the primary is over.

“The party has a product that is refined, well packaged and sellable to the electorate in the person of Okpebholo and is therefore ready to win Edo,” Ganduje said.

He stated that other candidates had since congratulated Okpebholo as the party’s candidate.

While submitting the committee’s report to Ganduje, Mr Nze Duru, the party’s Deputy National Organising Secretary, stated that the primaries were judged nationally and internationally to be the most peaceful, fair, and transparent in the state.

In his remarks, Okpebholo urged other contestants who competed for the party’s ticket alongside him to work together to ensure that the APC wins the governorship election on September 21.

Also addressing, Sen. Lucky Imasuen, one of the aspirants who ran for the party’s ticket with Okpebholo, stated that the NWC handled the Edo primary election with diligence, sincerity, and fairness.

He praised the APC Edo Governorship Primary Election Committee for a job well done, and promised that the other candidates will work alongside Okpebholo to achieve the APC’s win at the poll.

Meanwhile, Dennis Idahosa, a key contender for the APC ticket, protested the outcome of the rerun primary poll in Abuja.

Idahosa urged the party to uphold his prior announcement as an APC contender for the Edo governorship election in 2024.

News24 Nigeria reports that, Idahosa was first named the winner of the Edo Governorship Primary Election on February 17 by the Governorship Primary Election Committee led by Gov. Hope Uzodinma.

The APC NWC, however, overturned Idahosa’s election and deemed it inconclusive.

The committee scheduled a supplementary election for February 21 and replaced Uzodinma with Cross River Gov. Bassey Otu as chairman.

Otu declared Okpebholo the winner of the supplemental primaries, claiming he received 12,433 votes to defeat 11 other contestants.

Okpebholo now represents the Edo Central Senatorial District in the National Assembly.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.