NECO set to conduct SSCE in Saudi Arabia

The National Examinations Council (NECO) has finalized plans to hold the Senior School Certificate Examinations (SSCE) internally in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

This followed the successful accreditation of Nigeria International School, Jeddah, by a team led by Minister of State for Education Dr. Yusuf Sununu and NECO Registrar Prof. Dantani Wushishi.

Azeez Sani, Acting Director of NECO’s Directorate of Information and Digital Communication, said in a statement on Saturday that during the tour, the delegation assessed the school facilities and held an interactive session with the school’s management and staff.

Sununu, in his remarks, exhorted the staff and students of the school to continue to be good ambassadors of Nigeria not only in Saudi Arabia but throughout the Gulf States Cooperation Council.

He explained that after a careful assessment of the school’s learning facilities such as Examination Halls, Class rooms, Laboratories, Library, Curriculum and syllabus as well as the general security of the school, the Nigeria International School Jeddah, were found worthy of consideration as an International Centre for NECO SSCE Internal, and was consequently granted full Accreditation.

On his part, Registrar/Chief Executive of NECO, Prof. Wushishi, who gave a brief history on the evolution of NECO, explained to the Management and Staff of the School the importance of School Accreditation, which he said was to ensure that schools have adequate teaching and learning facilities conducive for examinations.

The delegation was earlier received on arrival at the School by the Consular General, Ambassador Bello Kazaure and the Proprietor of the School, Alhaji Abdulkadir Maikudi and other Staff of the School.

The Minister and the NECO Registrar also visited the Nigeria House in Jeddah, where they interacted with the Consular General and other Staff of the Consulate.

It would be recalled that the National Examination Council has other International Examination Centres in Togo, Benin Republic, Equitorial Guinea, Niger and Republic of Gabon.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.