142 Nigerian students secure scholarships in top European universities

The European Union (EU) has awarded 142 postgraduate scholarships to young Nigerians for the 2024-2025 academic year. The recipients will study at top European universities under the EU’s Erasmus+ programme.

The scholarships are part of the EU’s Erasmus Mundus initiative, which funds students attending Erasmus Mundus Joint Programmes at the Master’s or Doctoral level. Both EU and non-EU students are eligible for these scholarships.

Ms. Samuela Isopi, the EU Ambassador to Nigeria and ECOWAS, highlighted Nigeria’s continued leadership in securing these scholarships at the Erasmus+ Scholarship Pre-departure Orientation event in Abuja. For the sixth consecutive year, Nigeria tops the list of African countries benefiting from the EU’s postgraduate scholarships.

Isopi noted the transformative impact of the Erasmus Mundus Joint Master Degree (EMJMD) programme, which is now in its 20th year. She praised Nigerian students for their academic excellence, stating, “Nigeria is the top country in Africa with the highest number of awardees this year and is among the top five globally, alongside countries like India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.”

The selected 142 Nigerian students emerged from a highly competitive process that saw thousands of applicants worldwide. These scholarships not only provide personal development opportunities but also benefit Nigeria, as the students will return with advanced skills to contribute to the country’s growth.

The pre-departure orientation aims to equip the students with practical advice to maximize the scholarship’s opportunities. The Erasmus+ programme will run for 12 to 24 months, with students studying at multiple universities across various countries. Fields of study include Renewables-based Power Systems, Chemical Innovation and Regulation, Public Health in Disasters, Bio refinery, Marine Environment, Soil Science, Sustainable Engineering, and Sustainable Mineral and Metal Processing Engineering.

Upon completing their studies, scholars will receive a degree awarded by a consortium of universities under the EMJMD programme, a key component of Erasmus+.

Additionally, the EU collaborates with several Nigerian states, including Kano, Sokoto, Jigawa, Adamawa, Bayelsa, Oyo, Katsina, Enugu, and Plateau, to enhance the education system, integrate digital technology, and promote green skills and knowledge. The EU has committed 45.4 million euros to these projects from 2021 to 2027.


Leave a Comment